It’s Not Right, #MeToo

Ingmar Bergman’s The Virgin Springs focuses on issues that are still going on today. Sexual assault, rape, questioning of faith, guilt, jealousy, the list goes on. While watching this film I was annoyed and frustrated. First of Karin is a sweet virgin girl who is spoiled by her mother and has a unique relationship with her father. Unique meaning they have a more intimate relationship than just being father and daughter. Karin’s parents Tore and Mareta needs her to go to the church and give the candles to the Virgin Mary. During this time period, only the virgin could bring the candles so it had to be Karin. Ingeri the servant of Karin’s family goes with her through the first to make the trip to the church. I know I am speaking with a 21st-century mindset, but I would not have sent two women (one of them being pregnant) out on such a long trip. As the story goes on Karin is by herself because Ingeri couldn’t go on with the trip and Karin is approached by three herdsmen who eat lunch with her, rape her, and kill her.

Picture for Blog

Even if you didn’t watch this movie you see my frustration, why would Bergman want to do something like this? I know Bergman was going through something himself, but I felt he made Karin too easy and gullible. I felt there was no genuineness in this film. Even in modern films today the portrayal of women is posed as weak and easy to get, however with #MeToo movement things are changing around. I think if this film was to be remade, there would be a different outcome, Karin would be strong, her parents would be more verbal, everything would be different. As a young woman watching this film I felt during Bergman’s time these issues were probably not focused on much. However, as someone who wants to work in the film industry was thinking of the remake of this film and how these issues should end.

One thought on “It’s Not Right, #MeToo

  1. I have not seen this film, but I do see your frustration! I agree that films like these are outdated, and a female role would have more powerful characteristics to her; however, when this was filmed in the 50’s-60’s, women were not considered as equals to men, and this film shows the stereotypes that were associated to women at that time. I love your comparison of the “Me Too” movement. It would be interesting to see how someone would modernize this film. Even though I was frustrated with the role of women in this film, I was happy to read that Töre was able to avenge Karin.

    Like

Leave a comment